pertinent articles and popular news and feature articles indicative of public interest.

For details about the nomination process, visit nesacs.org/awards_esselen.html. Nominations are due by Oct. 15 to kolb@aerodyne.com. Copy piper281@verizon. net on the e-mail.

UNILEVER AWARDINVITES NOMINATIONS

THE ACS Division of Colloid & Surface Chemistry is accepting nominations for the 2010 Unilever Award for Outstanding Young Investigator in Colloid & Surfactant Science.

The award recognizes and encourages fundamental work in colloid or surfactant science carried out in North America by researchers in the early stages of their careers. The award consists of \$3,000, a plaque, and up to \$1,000 toward travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented.

Nominees should be within seven years of having received a Ph.D.; the cutoff date is July 1, 2003. Special consideration is given to the originality and creativity of the work and to its potential impact.

Nomination packets should include a nomination letter, three supporting letters, the nominee's curriculum vitae with a complete list of publications, and reprints of up to five papers that demonstrate the nominee's excellence in publication of his or her research work. The nomination letter should contain a 25-word citation describing the nominee's specific achievements.

Packets should be sent electronically, preferably as a single PDF file, to Darsh T. Wasan at wasan@iit.edu. The deadline for receipt of nominations is Jan. 22, 2010.

The award will be presented at the 84th Colloid & Surface Science Symposium on June 20–23, 2010, at the University of Akron.

DANIEL MINDIOLA TO RECEIVE FRESENIUS AWARD

DANIEL J. MINDIOLA, associate professor of chemistry at Indiana University, Bloomington, is the winner of the National Fresenius Award, which is sponsored by Phi Lambda Upsilon, the National Honorary Chemical Society. The award is pre-

sented annually to an outstanding young scientist who has attained national recognition in the areas of research, teaching, and/or administration.

Mindiola's research focuses on the design and assembly of reactive metal complexes of early metals and their role in unusual transformations such as C–H activation and C–N bond cleavage reactions. He is also interested in novel catalytic processes mediated by reactive complexes containing metal-ligand multiple bonds.

He will be honored at the ACS National Awards ceremony during the spring ACS national meeting in San Francisco.

OMAR YAGHI IS IZATT-CHRISTENSEN AWARDEE

OMAR M. YAGHI, Jean Stone Professor of Chemistry at the University of California,



Los Angeles, is the winner of the 2009 Izatt-Christensen Award, sponsored by IBC Advanced Technologies. He received a \$2,000 honorarium and a plaque.

Yaghi is widely known for inventing

several extensive classes of new materials such as metal-organic frameworks, zeolitic imidazolate frameworks, and covalent organic frameworks. These materials, with their high surface areas and low densities, are useful in clean-energy technologies such as hydrogen storage, methane storage, and carbon dioxide capture.

HERSCHBACH AWARD TO NEUMARK AND TRUHLAR

DANIEL M. NEUMARK, professor of chemistry at the University of California, Berkeley, and director of the chemical sciences division at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, and **Donald G. Truhlar,** Regents Professor of Chemistry at the University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, are the winners of the 2009 Dudley R. Herschbach Award.

The award, presented every two years at the Conference on the Dynamics of Molecular Collisions, recognizes an experimental and a theoretical chemist who, through their bold and architectural works, is "inspiring and empowering in the field of the dynamics of molecular collisions."

NOMINATIONS SOUGHT FOR YOUNG INNOVATOR AWARD

ANALYTICAL CHEMISTRY is seeking nominations for the 2009 Young Innovator Award. The award honors the contributions of an individual who has demonstrated exceptional technical advancement and innovation in the field of micro- or nanofluidics in his or her early career. Nominees must have received their doctorate within the past 15 years.

The award will be presented at the μ TAS 2009 Conference, in Jeju, South Korea. The award consists of \$2,500, a plaque, and up to \$1,500 in travel expenses to the conference.

Nominations should include a nomination letter that identifies the nominee's innovations and any relevant papers, a curriculum vitae, and up to two seconding letters. Self-nominations are allowed. Email nominations to managing editor Jennifer Griffiths at j_griffiths@acs.org.

The deadline for receipt of nominations is Oct. 2.

SPECIAL RECOGNITION

JESSICA ALEXANDER, an undergraduate at Rochester Institute of Technology, is the recipient of the Priscilla Carney Jones Scholarship, which supports an undergraduate woman entering her junior or senior year in the study of chemistry or a chemically related area. The \$2,500 scholarship is awarded on the basis of both need and academic achievement.

AMY KALLMERTEN, a graduate student at Northeastern University, is the winner of the 2008 M. J. Collins Award, sponsored by CEM Corp. The award recognizes outstanding research by a student in the field of microwave chemistry. Kallmerten received a cash prize of \$5,000, with matching funds presented to her academic sponsor.

LINDA WANG compiles this section. Announcements of awards may be sent to l_wang@acs.org.